There were several changes made to the Cricket Commitee at this years's AGM.

Graeme De Villiers will take over as Cricket Chairman from Phill West who will now be able to dedicate more time to his role as Club Chairman. Darryl Barnes will take over from Henri Peters as first eleven captain, as Henri has moved to Spain, and Tim Roberts will be second eleven skipper next season as Angus Hargan steps down. Elliott Mcpherson and Jack Le Maitre will take over the captaincy of the Sunday team from Alex McPherson and Luke Turner. Our sincere thanks go to Phill, Henri, Alex and Luke for their hard work.

In further captaincy news, Ram Viswanathan will take on the fifth eleven as we look to take on a league season due to last year's success and Tom Bartosak-Harlow and Haresh Rao will continue in their roles as third and fourth skippers following their excellent campaigns last year.

In other changes, Tim Keene formally takes on the Treasurer role that he has been working on since mid-summer and Kapil Dubey becomes Communications Manager.

The W&HCC Annual General Meeting will take place on Thursday 16 November at 7.30pm at our clubhouse in Brewery Road.

We will be electing and re-electing the officers and captains for next season and, as many of you will know, the club is regularly looking for volunteers to help with the day to day running of our ever growing club. If you are interested in finding out more about how you can help out or would like to know more about the roles that might be available then speak to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

We are particularly looking for someone to take over as the Fundraising and Sponsorship Chairman and are interested in hearing from people who might want to join one ot our sub-committees.

At a star studded and lavish (ahem) End of Season Awards, Geof Price won the Clubperson of the Year for his tireless coaching work with the juniors and ladies team and his knack of being able to find a promising junior for the senior teams! His contribution has been outstanding (again) this season and he is a deserved winner. Kudos must also go to the many, many other people mentioned in Saturday night's speech as we have never had so many people in the running to win the award.

Henri Peters, following his stunning 207* earlier that afternoon, took the Batsman of the Year award and his consistent wicket taking ability won Ali Khan the Bowler of the year award. 

Johanna Thompson was the first ever Ladies player of the year and the Young Player of the Year was won by Aaron Marsh for his succesful debut season in the second team. 

Congratulations to all of our winners, check out our social media pages for more details, and a huge thank you to everyone who helped on the evening.

A special thank you must be extended to ABCO Taxis who sponsored the event.


An astonishing innings from Henri Peters saw him smash Jon Ambrose's thirty year club record score with an unbeaten 207* in our final first eleven league game of the season against Old Paulines. Batting first, and seeing his opening partner out first ball, Henri took control from the start and quickly surpassed his 97 scored against the same opposition earlier in the season. Despite his marathon innings, and the hot weather, he remained on the charge launching the OPs spinner for three sixes in an over even after he had passed Curtley's record score of 161. Fittingly, Henri was joined by brother Martin as he got to his double hundred, a remarkable achievement. This innings also secured him the Batsman of the Year Award as he passed Shehan Fernando's run tally for the year.

Congratulations to Henri. This, sadly, will be his final game for a while as he moves to Spain. We wish him and Sophie all the best of luck.


We will be tidying up the ground and putting it to bed for the winter on Sunday 17th September from 9.30. There are a few jobs that need to be completed, that should only take a few hours, with a few willing volunteers. If you can help that morning then please let Andrew Murphy know. Thanks.

Congratulations to our under 12 Whirlwinds who won the County Cup on Monday, by beating Spencer at Valley End CC by 45 runs.

After a fantastic effort with the bat, scoring 156 in their twenty overs, our bowlers kept it tight and some excellent fielding contributed to a flurry of wickets towards the end of the innings as Spencer fell short of their victory target.

Congratulations to all of the boys who played across the tournament and also to the coaches who have worked so hard over the years. Your success is just reward for your efforts. Well done all. A thank you should also be said to the large number of travelling Woking and Horsell members from across the club who came to support the boys.


Page 1 of 60

Go to top